Go Back   Paw Talk - Pet Forums > Rodents > Degu Discussion

Degu Discussion Twitching whiskers, curious noses, and all things degu related.

Old 06-28-2004, 01:09 AM
Newborn Pup

gizmos mom is on a distinguished road

degus with hamsters

I am new to owning a degu. We only have one female named Gizmo and understand that she should have a companion. Can you put a hamster with her? She is very gentle and thought maybe a hamster would work. We kind of hate to get a guinnea pig because they seem to smell worse.
Old 06-28-2004, 07:19 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd

Sasami is a jewel in the roughSasami is a jewel in the roughSasami is a jewel in the rough
Why don't you just get another degu? They're really better off with their own kind...hamsters are solitary and the degu's alot bigger and might hurt it.

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."

Old 06-29-2004, 06:00 PM
Playful Pup

EFExotics is on a distinguished road
I agree, get another Degu. Not only are their diet requirements different... but hamsters are very solitary creatures.
Old 07-02-2004, 05:33 PM
Newborn Pup

gizmos mom is on a distinguished road

can't find degus

We thought about putting a hamster with our degu because we haven't been able to find another degu. I have called pet shops in our area and none of them carry them. We know she is lonely because she weeps so we want to do something. The pet shops suggested a guinea pig. I do have a question about that: Gizmo is a female so do we need to get a female guinea pig or does it matter? Would a male try to mate with her?
Old 07-03-2004, 01:16 AM
Adolescent Pup

Phoebe'sBean is on a distinguished road
Oh dear. I doubt he'd try to mate with her.. but I really don't know. Wouldn't have to worry about babies? I'd stick with another degu, really.. not quite sure how any other animals would be with her - I wouldn't want to take the chance without an extra cage, just in case they need to be seperated.