Need some advice. - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Guinea Pig Discussion Popcorns, wheeks, and all else piggy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-18-2010, 04:49 PM Thread Starter
Fashion Animal Freak :)

Unhappy Need some advice.

Alrite nacho has been with me for around 3months now and i have tried to find local shelters for small animals but none have guinea pigs and rarely get any in! So basically my last resort would be another petshop pigger! but im really stuck..
Im studying an animal management course and my teacher who has alot of degree's with animals and vet diploma's said that two male guinea pigs not from the same litter will NOT tolorate eachother, and if they do it won't last as they will start to fight or one get bullied.. then i asked a vet.. they said the same thing, so i was getting even more confused, but me and my boyfriend went to the petstore my dad got nacho from and they asked if we had or have had guinea pigs before because we seen this young male we were interested in, and i told the man we had a male we got from them a few months ago, and he straight away said no, we cannot sell single males to another male as they fight and we cannot risk our pet or your pets safety.. so i gave up came home and i really am just stuck on what too do!.
I do not have enough room in my bedroom for two LARGE cages if we have to seperate them, i build nacho a pen attached to his cage so now his cage is half of my room lol. But im getting worried about him being alone, but i still don't think i could deal with fighting and seperating males. See what got me worried was that nacho sleeps on and off all day then just runs around but he does seem to just plump himself down in the middle of his cage and sleep and i thought it was boredum, but hes got alot of toys, boxes, hay, veggies and also alot of room for one piggy.
What should i do?

Rip Novo, Mummy Loves You x
"To close your eyes will not ease another's pain."
Sponsored Links
Advertisement