Go Back   Paw Talk - Pet Forums > Dogs and Cats > Dogs

Dogs Wagging tails, wet noses, unconditional love, and everything else that goes along with canines!

Old 01-05-2003, 04:56 PM
marsha

Talking

help for tail chewing!!

Hi, I am new to Pawtalk and have a question.My friend has an 8 year old greyhound mix and she has an on-going behavior problem. Missy, whenever left alone (which BTW is very rare!), chews her tail to the point of bleeding. She makes a giant mess because her tail inevitably drags across the walls, etc = Gross!!

I had her use some bitter apple, which worked for awhile, but is ineffective now. I thought all you smarties out there might offer me some tips.

Thanks!

Marsha
Old 01-06-2003, 12:19 AM
Princess in Waiting

Crittercall is on a distinguished road
Cool

Is she kept crated while the owner is away? If not, she might try that. Grayhounds are nervous dogs by nature, and she is obviously anxious while her mom is gone. Sometimes having their own space and knowing that they aren't responsible for the whole house helps.

I assume that she has definitely ruled out any skin problems......since it seems to happen only when she's away. Has she discussed this with her vet? He might be able to give her something for anxiety to give the dog when she is going to be away from home. I'm not advocating a dog hopped up on drugs, but sometimes atarax or acepromazine will help.

Just out of curiousity, what is the protein content of the food this dog eats? A high protein level seems to add to any skin problem that they might have. My daughter keeps her Golden on food that is no more than 16 to 18%. Since this dog is no longer a "working" dog she doesn't require a lot of protein.

That's all I can think of off the top of my head! I know how they can chew themselves in just a matter of minutes until they are bleeding and you feel sorry for the dog and sorry for the owner (because I know she feels guilty).

Let me know what happens.