Paw Talk - Pet Forums banner

Animal Hoarding Information

4K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  cest-la-vie 
#1 ·
Hello pet lovers!

I'm a researcher for the series Confessions: Animal Hoarding, currently airing on Animal Planet that tells the stories of people overwhelmed by the number of pets they own. The problem is on the rise and affects communities across America.

Most animal hoarders don’t see themselves as hoarders, and sometimes don’t intentionally collect animals. Most of these situations aren’t dealt with until they become criminal. This results in animals being euthanized by over-stressed shelters, and doesn’t address the underlying psychological issues - meaning nearly 100% of people end up in the same situation again.

We are dedicated to finding comprehensive long-term solutions and believe therapy to be key to this. We can bring in experts to help.

If you or someone you know needs help because animals have overrun their life, visit www(dot) animalhoardingproject (dot)com to learn more and submit their story. Alternatively, phone our team toll-free at 1 -877-698-7387.

We will treat all submissions with confidentiality and respect.

Please share this info with your communities, we want to get the word out across the USA and Canada and help as many people as we can. Thanks!

See less See more
#2 ·
Thank you! The show is incredibly "eye opening"

I personally and thankfully have no referrals for you, but I'm so happy you have come here! Any information you can impart on us on any of the forums we have posted would also benefit us!

#5 ·
I hate people who discriminate against mental illness! I find what you said really rude. A mentally ill person can not help that they are mentally ill, no more then someone can help that they are physically ill.