cat urine and spray smell - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Cats Your scratching post for anything feline related!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-20-2004, 01:25 PM Thread Starter

Question cat urine and spray smell

Anybody have any suggestion on how to get musky smell out of house? I have a female cat in heat and the entire house sticks. I know that she has peed in at least one spot and I have done everything I can think of to that spot--but now the entire house sticks. Any quick and easy suggestion? I am a full time student and do not work, so I can not afford to take her to a vet right now. I don't want to give her up because of the kids--but I might have to if I can't get rid of this smell--it is so strong it is making me sick.
Thank you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-20-2004, 05:20 PM
Paw-Talk Addict

Hi I'm sorry you are in this position. Why is your cat in tact and not spayed?
There are low or no-cost spay neuter programs (often based on ability to pay) in many cities. The first thing I would do is find a way to get her spayed.
Once she is altered, the spraying and marking behaviors will decrease dramatically. As far as the smell that is already permeated into your furniture, carpet, walls - or wherever she's been peeing, there are very effective enzyme based products that eliminate the odor. It may take some time to totally eliminate all the smell because you will have to find every spot she has urinated on. You can also get a small black-light and in the dark, urine will glow and be easily visible. This is a great way to treat areas that are producing odor but you didn't even know were there.

I'm sorry I don't have any quick or easy suggestions. This is going to be a multi-step process. I understand the smell is very unpleasant and you'd like it gone yesterday!