Introducing a Pup to an All Cat Household - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Cats Your scratching post for anything feline related!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-11-2006, 02:44 PM Thread Starter

Introducing a Pup to an All Cat Household

Hello fellow cat lovers!

Newbie here! I love all animals & as you can tell by my handle, I have 5 beautiful cats! They range in age from 6-11 years & are all mixed breeds. 4 girls/1 boy! I live in a rural area outside a large city. I have also trapped & neutered 4 feral cats. One of the ferals is now a pet; she's very timid but has the most sweet disposition of all my babies! They're all inside cats w/the exception of the feral, who is an outside-days, inside-nights cat.

My husband & I have had an all-cat household for the last 10 years. We recently added a privacy fence to our backyard & he wants to get a puppy. I'm leery of getting a full-grown dog as it may have not been raised around cats & could be hostile. The pup would most likely come from our county animal shelter.

Does anyone have any advice on how to make this transition smooth on my existing 5 babies? I know this will be a big change in their environment & am prepared for the territorial behavior. The puppy will stay outside most of the time, coming inside during bad weather. I think the pup will adjust fine to the cats but I'm not sure how easy it will be for them to adjust to him/her.

Thanks! I look forward to being a part of this community!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-11-2006, 04:47 PM
Fluffy Gerbilshorts

mom--one thing I noticed about dogs and cats is that cats will let a dog know when he's gone too far. The cats might even warm up to the dog. I had a husky and when I took in a stray for the winter, she loved when the husky would carry her around by the scruff.