newborn kitten - need advice - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Cats Your scratching post for anything feline related!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-25-2008, 03:20 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

newborn kitten - need advice

i have just acquired a newborn kitten. Mama cat abandoned the litter. The kitten i have is the only one left. I am not sure about her age. I have been feeding her with a bottle every 2-3 hours, keeping her warm in a crate with blankets and an electric blanket on low. she seems to be doing so much better since we first got her. She is walking around now, and has just started cleaning herself. That started today. Should I continue to stimulate her tummy or will she do this on her own now. Her pee is clear but her poop is dark and not solid. Is this normal? When should I introduce kitten food. Can anyone give me any suggestions and how old do you think she may be. Thanks for any advice. I am new to this, but have ready a lot of info on the internet on what to do. This is rewarding to watch her develop but kind of scary too. Her life is literally in my hands.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 (permalink) Old 04-25-2008, 04:16 PM
Playful Pup

You're an angel for taking in the little orphan. Is the kitten a newborn, or are it's eyes open? Are you feeding it kitten formula? If it's still a newborn you need to stimulate it after each feeding. It needs kitten formula, not human formula or cows milk. You're doing just the right thing by keeping the baby warm and dry.

I wouldn't introduce kitten food until she's at least 3 weeks, preferably closer to 6 weeks. When you start introducing canned food you should dilute it with formula and heat it up to room temp. The kitten will not know how to drink from a bowl or saucer. You'll have to show it by carefully dipping it's lips into the mush. It should catch on within a couple of hours, but be prepared for a real mess, with mush all over the little one.