Orphan Kitten - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Cats Your scratching post for anything feline related!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-23-2010, 01:25 AM Thread Starter

Orphan Kitten

Hi, I work at a pet store and recently someone brought in a kitten who'd been abandoned by a feral mother. Apparently the mother had abandoned a litter before this, but they didn't find them until they'd passed away. I offered to keep it as I've had some experience raising other baby animals.

We took her to the vet the morning after, who guessed she's about 2 weeks old, and he gave her a dewormer and some medicine for coccidia. We've had her since this Monday.

We're a little worried, though. She's eating well and has been steadily gaining weight- actually a little faster than kittenrescue.org suggests they should, which has me worried some. Also, she tends to get the shakes- usually it's when she's practicing her walking (she's not too good at it yet), but sometimes if she's not in her blanket or in her box with her heating pad she will.

I don't want to smother her, but I can't tell if it's because she is cold or for some other reason. I was originally feeding her every 4 hours but for the last few hours I fed her every two, as I was concerned it was something to do with not getting enough formula?

Also, her stool, which for a while was firming up (still soft, but the vet tech I spoke to on the phone said it was because of the dewormer and coccidia meds) is runny again. I have been feeding her Just Born liquid formula. I read somewhere that cutting the formula with water might help, so I did... and her stool was practically liquid after. >_<