Losing Hair - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Hooved Animal Discussion For all you hooved animal lovers.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 11:00 AM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Exclamation Losing Hair

Hello everyone,
I'm new to the discussion forum and I need a little advise. I have a new horse--he is 11 years old. He was resued from slaughter so, he had some health issues from lack of care. The vet said he vetted sound, but he did need his teeth floated and he had an infected sheath from lack of care--all this was done last week. I have given him all of his shots, and a tetanus booster and penicillin for the infection. His feet have cracks and I have a great farrier that is working with the vet to get that fixed.

OK, so all those other problems are now on there way to being healed and he is loosing a great deal of hair. He banged his side getting out of the horse trailer and in this area it is now bald. He is very thin, but the vet told me it is from poor care. She/the vet had me worm him for tape worm, then use Quest in six weeks, then Ivermectin in six weeks, and keep up the six week schedule through four different wormers.

Any ideas about the hair loss--should he go back to the vet or is it just from no care then all this care at once. Is it that he bruised himself getting out of the trailer and now he is losing hair there? He has plenty of water, alfalfa hay and oat hay, 16 way protein John Lyons feed, bran--three days a week, quit chew, and a protein mix for his feet. He is still about 50-100 pounds underweight. But he is putting the weight on fast. Should I be concerned? He is lively and great to ride. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 03-30-2004, 02:37 PM
Super Soaker Snot Ball Shooter

First of all, welcome to Paw-Talk!

It sounds like you are doing a fantastic job getting him back to health!