Ouchy! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Hooved Animal Discussion For all you hooved animal lovers.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-16-2011, 05:53 PM Thread Starter
is a little "special"

Ouchy!

Ok, so I fell off rather painfully last night when I was horse back riding!

Mickey, the horse I ride, is pretty naughty LOL. His owner died a year and a half ago (He belonged to my lesson teacher's dad), so since then no one really rides him. I started riding him in the summer, and he is really energetic... He spooks kinda easily too, he started bucking when you ask him to canter (He doesn't really even know how to canter/lope... He just kinda runs!) over the winter, and he figured out how to make it basically impossible to lung him too: He will randomly stop dead and face you so you can't get behind him to get him going again. It's frustrating, but kinda funny at the same time. He's a smart horse, and he seems to enjoy teasing people like that LOL.

So the person that gives me lessons decided that we wouldn't lunge him again until the summer when we can use the round pen, because he is just learning more bad habits. When I got on my stirups were way to short, so she adjusted them for me while me and Mickey stood in the arena. So I had one leg up while my stirups were being adjusted, and all the sudden Mickey decided to take off across the arena. He is a fast horse (That's why I loved riding him!) and since I only had one leg in the stirup, I couldn't get back on and I fell off... I made it to the other end of the arena at least, though!
But yeah. It was scary, because it knocked the wind out of me and I couldn't breathe at first. After I rested for a few minutes, I rode one of the bomb-proof lesson horses named Johnny instead... He is a sweet heart.
My back and my neck are absolutely killing me today! I now have a bruise on my back the size of a soft ball, LOL.