Help! pregnancy! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Degu Discussion Twitching whiskers, curious noses, and all things degu related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 12:31 PM Thread Starter

Question Help! pregnancy!

hey guys, i've come for your expert advice! i've got 3 Degu (Singh, Kairi and Nausicaa) all female i've had them around two months now and i think Singh might be pregnant!
she's gotten bigger, made a nest, and started getting more aggresive.
i've never had a pregnant animal before, and although i've done a lot of research (thank you paw talk =D) i'm still a rookie,
is there anything i need to get for her or her possible babies?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-28-2008, 12:56 PM
Adolescent Pup

be prepared to get an extra cage just incase she and the other degu start fighting alot, seeing as if she is pregnant it might cause her to lose some of the babies. she will need someplace to bring the babies that she thinks is safe enough (about 75 degrees F, and somewhat dark).

She will want to bring some kind of hammock or fabric tunnel that you have into there probably, so it would be a good idea to take an old shirt and cut out a big square (8x8 to 10x10)

Other than that it just comes down to not holding her a whole ton and try not letting her run on her wheel quite as much as normal. ALSO remember to move the babies to the lowest level if she gives birth on an upper floor. we dont want any falls now

best of luck
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-31-2008, 02:23 PM
Adolescent Pup

hello
the other female goos should help her raise her pups its best to act as if she is pregnant dont pick her up at all and dont handle the pups until they are about 3 weeks old as it can harm them just make sure mom is comfy and has food water etc and she will do the rest make sure that the babies cant fall of anything and most of all enjoy them and post loads of pics lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement