Introducing Degus - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Degu Discussion Twitching whiskers, curious noses, and all things degu related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-13-2005, 11:15 PM Thread Starter
Resident Aquarium Nerd

Introducing Degus

As some of you know I've been interested in getting a third degu for a while. However, they aren't common here and so I never was able to find any (except an adult male). Well, today at the exotics petstore they had a bunch of baby degus! They were very young and there were about 10 so I'm sure there's at least one female .

I bought my original degus there a year ago and they are very sweet with no health problems whatsoever. I've never gotten an unhealthy animal from this store and they take awesome care of their animals. The babies seemed very healthy and friendly and well...I'm thinking of getting one of them .

Only thing is, I've never done degu introductions before. I've read about them and everything but figured I could get better advise from people who have actually done it .

My current two degus, Hikaru and Ichigo, are about one year old. They are both female and have great temperments. But I'm still rather worried.

Also, the babies are very small (like mouse-sized) so I was wondering if it'd be ok to use a hamster cage at first before I put them all together? I'm asking because I have a large, two-level hamster cage that I could use. It seems sturdy enough, but I'd like to make sure.

How long does it usually take until you can put them all together? Where should I introduce them? I was thinking of introducing them in the bathtub as it is neutral grounds. Would that be ok? Do they usually fight at first? How do I know when to seperate them?

Oh, and don't worry, if they don't get along then I'll just buy another cage and another degu and house the babies seperately . But I hope it doesn't come to that.

Thanks in advance

~Stephanie