Maybe A Preggy Degu - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Degu Discussion Twitching whiskers, curious noses, and all things degu related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-04-2005, 12:32 PM Thread Starter

Question Maybe A Preggy Degu

Hi all!! I'm new to Paw-Talk and I need a little help concerning my lil degu. His name is Squirt and he might be pregnant lol. He won't let me pick him up to check if he is male or female.
Squirt is in a cage with a male degu (Nibbles). At first we thought Nibbles was just the dominant degu because he was always chasing Squirt around trying to hump him, and Squirt was a little shy (less dominant we thought). It's been about 70 days since we got them, and shortly after we got them, Nibbles woke us up sqeaking like a mad man. Maybe that's when Squirt got pregnant? Squirt is getting bigger in the belly so I'm thinking it's a girl and she's pregnant. Now that Squirt's belly is getting bigger, he's starting to fight with Nibbles rather than let him have his way. I'm thinking this may be because Squirt is actually a girl and sticking up for her babies. Could I be right?
After looking at the other posts on Paw-Talk I decided to do as others were told. Just in case Squirt is pregnant I gave them some materials to build a nest ( I'm not sure if they'll use them because we got them a little nest of hay when we first got them, maybe she'll just use that for a nest?), so far they didn't build a nest. I also tried feeling Squirt's belly to see if I could feel the babies moving, and I couldn't. Squirt is now walking funny with his/her legs more open and hopping sometimes rather than walking. Also, if he's on the wheel and Nibbles gets on, Squirt will leave the wheel rather than run with Nibbles like he used to, he'll only run alone now. Could these be signs?
Thank you so much for reading my long post and thank you in advance for helping me!!
Please let me know if my predictions are right.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement