2 Concerns with my New Gerbils? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Gerbil & Hamster Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all things gerbil or hamster related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 02:22 PM Thread Starter
Paw-Talk Golden Member

Unhappy 2 Concerns with my New Gerbils?

Hello All!
This is my first time here and I am so glad to have this board for help with my new guys, Mick and Keith, two Agouti gerbils. I just got them a few days ago.

They have a nice big home, exercise wheel, and all the other things gerbils love so all seemed well their first day or so here but two things have occured that have me a bit puzzled. First, the most worrisome thing is, they seem to suddenly be sleeping way too much or just sitting inside their little cave house with their eyes half open and just..sitting. Listliss maybe. I am concerned and not sure what the problem is, as they do not have any symptoms of illness that I can see..no runny eyes/noses, no sneezing, their fur looks great, their eyes are bright and so forth. They come out of their little nest/cave sometimes and eat, go on the wheel, run around, etc, but then they go back very quickly to their cave and snuggle up in there for hours and hours and not always sleeping but just..sitting there with their eyes open. I am so used to gerbils having much more energy than that so it concerns me. I just want to make sure they are healthy and happy. They also have not yet chewed up anything and I have had them for 3 days now..no chewing on their toilet paper roll at all or on their chew sticks. Just a slight nibble and they then ignore it. Any advice? Thanks in advance!
Concerned Gerbil Mom
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-12-2005, 06:57 PM