cage size - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Gerbil & Hamster Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all things gerbil or hamster related.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-31-2011, 04:11 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: long island N.Y.
Posts: 21
 
Lightbulb cage size

I picked up a petco 3 level hamster,gerbil,rat wire cage last summer for about $12.00. it's 16"x12"x20" is this cage big enough for 1 Syrian hamster.it came with wheel.2 tubes and 2 platforms.I don't have a hamster yet.not sure if I should get one because I have two dogs and no place to let the hamster run free for awhile, my apt does not have a tub,the only free romimg it could do is in a exercise ball should I even get this hamster?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mom to christopher,april 2 poms

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
pebbles,bam-bam 2 parakeets

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
red girl 1 beta
thewandererw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 03-31-2011, 05:01 PM
Zoo Keeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,367
 
no its not they need a 20 long sized enclosure. also they need floor space not height. bin cages are also amazing. If you want to use that cage you will need three.
Elliriyanna is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-05-2011, 09:09 PM
Mouse Obsessor
 
Aluyasha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 287
 
Yeah, Syrians are, I think, the biggest hamsters you can get. They get about hand size I believe. Though are the Teddy Bear version smaller? I had one when I was younger and I remember it being smaller.
Oh, and do not mean to thieve on your thread but I was actually going to post a similar thread...So my question is. How big a cage for Robo Hamsters? And are they required to have a cage mate?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

My Pets:

1 Rat: (Ace)
1 RC Hamster: (Hannibal)
3 Cats: (Tao, Drew, Jak-ke)
2 Ferrets: (Fisher, Georgie)
1 Betta: (Maxwell) + (5 Platies and 1 Molly)
Rest in peace all my little Mice: Tempo, Aaron, Tatiana, Pei, Shi, Orange, Spotty, Lee Hyun, Key, Calvin, Chun, Jiro, Hero...
And my past Dookers: Lulu (my heart), Frodo (my old man), MoneyPennies (the first one), ect...
Aswell as all my lost Cats (my beloved Haru, ect..) and Bettas (Stahl the creepy one, ect..)
Aluyasha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-06-2011, 01:41 PM
Zoo Keeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,367
 
robo's do not NEED a cage mate if its your first robo just get one. They also need an enclosure the size of a 20 long ( 360 sq inches floor space)

Also " teddy bear" hamsters are merely long haired syrians they are the same size.
Elliriyanna is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome