Dwarf Buddy Loved Wheel? Now, nothing! What's up? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Gerbil & Hamster Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all things gerbil or hamster related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-11-2011, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Dwarf Buddy Loved Wheel? Now, nothing! What's up?

Hey There,

I'm kind of new to hamster owning, but I've caught on fast. Love the little guys. Have a Cambell dwarf male (approx 3.5 months old or so). Great cage set up.. toys, distractions, the works. First month of ownership, 'Hamlet' would be scared of me somewhat, bite my finger, but would go nuts for his wheel—and be practically running it all night long.

Then about 2 weeks ago, we had a bonding breakthrough. I'd put him in a big tupperware type "playpen" and pet and massage him. Now he's very comfortable with my hand, and loves playing in his 'playpen.' But now when I put him back in his cool cage, nothing. He doesn't burrow, doesn't climb really, and especially doesn't use the wheel any more. It's like one day he loved it. Next day, nothing.

Any hamster lovers who obviously know more than I, have a clue to what's going on here? I'd hate for Hamlet to only get activity now when I put him in his playpen.

Thanks,
Beenolas
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-11-2011, 12:45 PM
she-mayor of Whoville

What does he do when he's back in his cage? Does he look out at you?

Are you sure he isn't running on the wheel at like 3 am when you are asleep??

My dwarves are used to getting out and playing in a much larger space than their cages.. they often look out at me as if to say "I wanna come out and play", but if they don't get to come out, they usually go to their wheel or go back to sleep.

Early early inthe morning though, the wheels are pretty much smoking they run so much!

Don't forget my youtube channel: fuzzypixie16
And add me on photobucket: tinypixiexoxo