Gerbil v.s. Hamster - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Gerbil & Hamster Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all things gerbil or hamster related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-06-2007, 07:47 AM Thread Starter

Question Gerbil v.s. Hamster

Hey guys im just wondering which one do u think is better?
And why?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-06-2007, 02:45 PM

I have no previous experience with gerbils.
But I LOVED my hamster& want to have another.

With gerbils I think its important to keep them in an aquarium with a screen lid.
Chewing cage bars isnt good.
Remember to give them things TO CHEW tho.
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-06-2007, 03:47 PM

we have lots of gerbils and they are awesome they dont bite as much as hamsters we have ours in an aquarium, plastic cage, and bar cage yeah we have 3 cages the only thing about gerbils is they have to have something to chew on to keep there teeth down but you can easily give them toilet paper rolls in which they really love to chew on plus there are chew sticks at walmart for 88 cents and i dont know we just enjoy the gerbils better than the hamster we had good luck choosing b/c they are both awesome pets
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-06-2007, 07:31 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd

I don't have much experience with gerbils but love hamsters . They are great pets. They have a bad reputation for biting but I've never been bitten by a hamster . I've had a few who were shy but never any "mean" ones.

~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-06-2007, 07:39 PM
Title Thief Victim

I like Gerbils better, but I also like hamsters! lol Gerbils aways seemed to be nicer then the hamsters i had

Carissasaurus Rex