Im new with a new dwarf hamster - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Gerbil & Hamster Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all things gerbil or hamster related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-11-2009, 04:27 PM Thread Starter

Smile Im new with a new dwarf hamster

Hi

just thought i would introduce myself and my new hammy. im adele and my hamster is Misty.
shes a russian dwarf campbell, a kinda caramel toffee colour, and only got her saturday afternoon.

I had a winter white previously who was tame right from the start and never once bit me.

however my new hamster (who at the minute is called Misty, but may soon be re-named bitey) bites me. ive been talking to her for the past 24 hours (not constantly! lol) and she seems to react to my voice, but as soon as i put my hand in (flat on the bottom) she bites me (not hard enough to draw blood - but hard enough for it to hurt! ouch!)

does anybody have any ideas?

my last hamster was so tame, she wud sit on my lap and watch telly and play for hours. does my hamster really hate me?

Also does anybody know how im going to get her out of her cage when it comes to cleaning her out??? i dont want to get bitten, but i want her to be tamed.

I dont want to keep putting my hand in her cage so soon as i dont want to upset her.

Thanks for reading and hope to hear from you soon

Thanks
Adele and Misty (AKA bitey)
xxx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-11-2009, 07:07 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd

You just got her, give her some time to settle into her new surroundings before you begin handling her. As for getting her out to clean the cage, I usually scoop them up with a cup or something .

Welcome to Paw-Talk, by the way!

~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-11-2009, 11:40 PM