Just rescued two dwarfs - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Gerbil & Hamster Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all things gerbil or hamster related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-04-2007, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Part of the Pack

Just rescued two dwarfs

I work as a pet photographer in Petco stores, and the store I was in today had a tank of hamsters for adoption (free), I guess a customer had an accidental litter, and brought them in about a week ago. There were 6 today. I noticed that the boys and girls had not been seperated, there was one little boy violating all of his sisters. Knowing that most people wouldn't be able to tell boys and girls apart, and knowing that the girls would probably be pregnant, I decided to take home two girls. I've got plenty of cages and supplies leftover from having my mice and my syrian hamster. A nice couple who recently lost their mice decided that they would adopt a pair, and I explained to them that if they got girls, they would probably have babies, so they decided to get boys. I have never handled dwarf hamsters before, or done much research on them, so sexing ended up being a comparison. I picked up the one little boy that had been humping the girls, and found one that matched. The other four appear to be girls. I explained to the couple that I'm no expert, but I knew a bit more than the store employees did, so they trusted me, but I did let them know that I could be wrong. Anyways, I took two girls, making sure the other two were both girls. Hopefully the employees will tell whoever adopts them that they are probably pregnant. I would have taken all four, but I don't have the space for four litters.