New Black Bear Owner - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Gerbil & Hamster Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all things gerbil or hamster related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-2006, 01:48 PM Thread Starter

Smile New Black Bear Owner

Hi, i'm new to hamsters and just bought a black bear for my 4yr. and 2 yr. old boys. We were told at PetSmart that this would be the best hamster for our boys and that they are friendly hamsters.

As soon as we got home and took "Linny" out of the box, she bit me and drew blood. After that i got on the internet and started to look for information about these blood thirsty creatures. All i could find was that they are kind and tame.

I was wondering if anyone could point me to a web site for more info on these and other hamsters. I don't want to be an owner that just throws the hamster in a cage and leaves them there. I want to make Linny feel like part of the family and feel safe.

Thanks and i look forweard to talking to some other members.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-2006, 02:22 PM

I always heard that you shouldn't handle them for a few days because they can get very stressed out moving to a new home. I would suggest you just let her be for a while and then slowly get her used to being handled.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-16-2006, 05:23 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd

I don't handle my hamsters for the first week I have them unless I absolutely need to. The hamster is still getting used to his new home. Also, keep in mind that petstore hamsters are harder to tame since they generally aren't handled as much.

It's better to let the hamster come to you and bribe it with food then to grab at him/her.

Good luck and welcome to PT!

~Stephanie

"We weep for a bird's cry, but not for a fish's blood. Blessed are those with a voice."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement