Potential Parent has Dwarf Hamster Questions - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Gerbil & Hamster Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all things gerbil or hamster related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-02-2006, 12:47 AM Thread Starter

Hello,
So, the idea of getting a (same-sex siblings) pair of dwarf hamsters has intreagued me for months now. I'm a busy college student, so dogs, cats, rabits, etc are out of the quesiton. I've never owned a small pet before (other than fish), so I have some questions...

1- I would probably have to keep my dwarfies in my bedroom (studio "apartment," etc), how do light sleepers deal with this? Are their nocturnal noises vocal, digging, or running? Would any particular cage or accessories such as certain wheels fix this issue?

2- What are the best housing options? I'm running across mixed reviews on the plastic hamster-specific commercial ones, though I don't know which of those would be best for a pair of dwarfies and I don't want to pay for anything extravagant. Would a 10-gal aquarium be sufficient? (I hear they're the worst to clean.) Are wire cages with bars the size for mice too drafty for these ground-dwelling creatures? What do you recommend?

3- I think I read a while back about someone's dwarfie using some kind of litter box, have any of you experienced this?

4- When/if I adopt a pair, I don't want to start with the petstore variety but would prefer a pair that was lovingly bred and handled to be friendly; Anyone know of someone in the Portland, Oregon area who breeds or has a recent/upcoming litter?

5- How sensitive are they to hot and cold?

6- How often does a cage have to be cleaned to prevent a smelly cage/room (sensitive nose), and how long do you find it takes to clean out their cages?