new to guinea pigs - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Guinea Pig Discussion Popcorns, wheeks, and all else piggy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-15-2009, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

new to guinea pigs

Hello everyone.

I am a new mommy to a female guinia pig named Rosalina, Rose for short. I actually bought her for my 9 year old son after his rat died several weeks ago. We went to the petsmart looking for a new pet because my son was really heart broken over his rat that died of old age. I was thinking a hampster, but we fell in love with the guinea pig that was there. Well since I had a big cage already I thought why not, but I have no experience with guinea pigs. She is very shy, and jumps around alot, and hides when ever I go near her, and she loves to talk to get my attention when she runs out of timothy hay. I was wondering how much is too much timothy hay, I bought her guinea pig food, but all she wants it the hay, and gets very loud if I dont give it to her. Also what are good wys to get her to trust me?? thank you.

-pollybug

Pollybug25's pets-

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rosie, Snowball, Princess, Boggart, and Taco

Ginger, chihuahua/mix

Brownie, Shihtzu

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-15-2009, 05:49 PM
Resident Aquarium Nerd

There's no such thing as too much timothy hay, she should have it at all times . Fresh vegetables are another important part of a guinea pig diet so make sure to feed her some.

Guinea pigs are actually rather social animals and do best when kept in pairs or groups. I'd highly recommend getting her a same-sex friend for that reason (it may also help with her shyness as single guinea pigs tend to be more nervous).