Apparently my mice like to bury their food AND water... - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-15-2008, 06:37 PM Thread Starter
Will It Ever Change?

Apparently my mice like to bury their food AND water...

So, I expect mice to bury food. My previous mouse did, my hamsters did, my spiny mice did, my degus did, my rats did/do. Easy guess, right? Well my mice like to bury their water. And there's no getting around it.

When I got the girls they'd been at their home one year. The lady said they've always used a water dish, that they won't/can't use a water bottle. Well, I thanked her but of course I had other plans. Plans called "drink it or go thirsty" Of course I carefully observed them (which, being a Bio student, I am trained to do). Everything was fine. They figured out in 5 hours. All was well.

I also figured that having a water bottle would stop the "water burying", and thought nothing of it. Well, 2 days after I have them on the water bottle, I wake up and see that they've piled shavings and toilet paper under the nozzle, about 1.5 inches high. I thought maybe they were uncomfortable of the position of it, so I raised it a bit and watched them some more. I saw mystique come up and pile a little more up. Then I thought that it was too high, so I made it lower. She still came up and shuffled the pile, right up to under the nozzle. Drank. Shuffled the pile. Right away I KNEW she was still burying her water!! So I put it back up to what I consider normal height. About 1.5 inches higher.

But today, ahhh, today I woke up to a glorious sight! Overnight she not only buried the nozzle, but almost all visual of the bottle (from her perspective), so...6 inches up. So when you look in the cage at it the way she sees it, all you see is a wall of shavings, tp, and the silver dot of the nozzle.