Brand New Rat Owner - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-12-2009, 06:37 PM Thread Starter
Playful Pup

Brand New Rat Owner

I'm a new rat owner as of today. I just adopted 3 female dumbo rats. I built a shelf/cabinet style cage that's 4' x 6 ' x 18". Each level is about 18" tall which may be a little too tall but I guess that means lots of hammocks and hanging levels.

The question I have is: do you give your rats box to hide in or do you make them just use the hammocks and fleece?

The reason I ask is because of of the 3 rats, one of them seems to be a little antisocial and goes in her own hideaway box to get away from the other 2. Is this normal?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-12-2009, 07:42 PM
Official Loofah Tester

Um...I'm not an expert and am expecting my first rats in four weeks, but I've done a bunch of reading up in the last couple of months? From what I've read, apparently the answer is "Both or Either", depending on what you or the rats prefer. If it were me, I'd put a little of all three in there just to give them a choice. I'd also go out on a limb to say that your one little girl's hiding would be normal, esp. since this is their first day home. Give them a couple of days to settle in but watch them in case they start having more than just minor antisocial adjustment. Have they always been together or have they only just been introduced to each other? It seems like that would make a difference.

I won't make any further observations since I'd just be parroting what I've read all over the place without any real insight. I will say post pictures! I'd love to see what they look like!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Hanging out in the Land of New Feetsies: