Breeding Old Rats - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-12-2010, 11:31 AM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Breeding Old Rats

My two doe rats are getting on in age and I was wondering what the deal is with breeding from them. It'd be really nice to get a litter from one or both of them before they become totally infertile as they have abolutely lovely temperaments and I'd like to get some new rats but I dont know anywhere to get them from where they've actually been handled at a young age and are tame and friendly.

I've heard that older does tend to have few, small litters, whichi is why I was considering that I'd be able to cope with the resulting kittens, but I'm no expert and I wouldn't want to do anything that would seriously risk their health or produce very unhealthy offspring. Does anyone have any advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-12-2010, 12:03 PM
Newborn Pup

Here are some quotes from The National Fancy Rat Society (UK) about breeding older does...

"Does become infertile at about eighteen months old, although a late litter can delay this by a couple of months. Rarely does over two years have been known to produce litters although this is not advisable, as they have been known to suffer strokes and similar problems."

"It is recommended to choose a doe between 5 and 7 months of age for her first litter. The older the doe is, the more problems she may encounter with pregnancy or birth. It is advised to never mating a doe who is over a year old for their first litter."

So I personally would suggest that if they're over a year old you should reconsider breeding them for their own good, especially since your other thread says that they are currently suffering from eye problems and rats that are not in good health (for whatever reason) should not be breed from.