Hi I'm new - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-04-2004, 09:12 AM Thread Starter

Exclamation Hi I'm new

Just wanted to say a couple of things. This is my first post and have really enjoyed this forum. I'm also new to having pet rats. I got into it by accident. I used to have a dog and cat, but they passed away and I was without any pet. A cousin of mine has several rats and one of her hairless rats had a new litter and asked me if I wanted one. At first I wasn't very keen on the idea, I mean like many people it was "rats-no way"! Even though I knew they weren't the viscious creatures Hollywood makes them out to be and these were more domesticated. Anyway, I took one back in July and call her Cleo. A month later I felt she might be lonely, so I got her Sabrina. I couldn't be happier! I am surprised at how intelligent they are, not to mention friendly.

Last night I came home from work and Sabrina came up to the cage to greet me, but Cleo did not. I thought there may be something wrong. I opened the cage and found her laying lifeless. Her body was cold and lifeless and thought she had died and I began to get very upset. Then I noticed a paw and ear twitch. I figured she may be close to death or maybe shock. Heck I didn't know. So I took her and layed her in front of a portable electric heater and kept petting her. Even though I was sweating in the house as it was warm, I then put on a heavy coat and tucked her inside. I worried all night, but guess what this morning she is chipper as ever! This got me to thinking, as to how many people assume their little pal is dead, when in fact it just may be sick?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-04-2004, 08:25 PM
Paw-Talk Lifer

Red face