I am handfeeding two baby mice :) - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 01:11 PM
Romping Ratties

I am handfeeding two baby mice :)

I took home three baby mice last week that were brought into our store as fuzzies to be fed to a snake, but the snake did not eat them so I took them home to handfeed. Sadly we have lost the little runt, but the two remaining males are doing just great! They opened their eyes yesterday and are very active now, hopping and bouncing around the cage and eating up a storm. I do have to admit they are a little fat, but it was my urgency in getting them to feed. This is my first time hand feeding baby mice and I think I am doing an excellent job. I had no faith they would survive and I am truly surprised they have lasted this long. Now that their eyes are open I do not have to worry anymore. Thank goodness! I got them when they were only a week old, so it was very difficult feeding them.

Here are pictures the day after I brought them home. I will try to get updated photos tonight once my batteries are charged so you can see how cute they are with their wittle eyes open.

They are incredible social having been hand raised by myself and I have to admit I am highly attached to them already. They are both boys, and the one who passed was a little girl. She was so beautiful but I knew when I first got them home she wasn't doing so well. They went two days without a feed and that did take a toll on the poor little girl. Though I am happy she passed here and not in a snakes belly.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-21-2004, 02:24 PM
Adolescent Pup

Aren't they adorable! I'm so sorry the little girl didn't make it though. Kudos to you for all the hard work you've put in for these little guys.

Christy
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~