I'm new to mice. Help please! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 06:55 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

I'm new to mice. Help please!

My names Laurena. My boyfriend just bought me two mice for Christmas one is a pet shop mouse and the other is from a private breeder. I have a few questions I hope that somebody could help me with.

*Pet shop mouse is called Fendey & I think he could be about 2months old & the private breeder mouse is called MJ and is probably really only about 4-5weeks I've had to seperate them so they are both in different enclosures now*

1) Fendey & MJ both seem to jump around a lot is that normal it's almost like they don't mean to they always look surprised when they do it and like they can't stop
2) Will I ever be able to introduce them. They both act fine in my hand but when I put them in a cage together Fendey bites MJ and kind of "suckles" his belly and then bites him and chases him around the cage.
3) MJ never really uses his wheel and eats a lot is this because he's younger than the other mouse and hasn't quite figured it out.
4) MJ likes to climb up on top of his house and sleep whereas Fendey seems to like pushing all of his bedding out of his house and then enjoys pushing it back in why do they do this.

Hope somebody can help they probably sound like silly questions but I've only had them 2weeks.
Thanks Laurena
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-03-2010, 07:35 PM
Official Loofah Tester

Hey Laurena,

1) Yes, the bouncing is called 'popcorning'. All baby mice and rats do it, some moreso than others. It's so much fun watching them bounce around.

They'll outgrow it. But, be careful when handling them in the meantime obviously, they'll pop out of your hand for a fall to the hard floor quicker than you can say popcorn.