Mouse Food - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-25-2005, 10:18 PM Thread Starter
Playful Pup

Mouse Food

Hey everyone - I have a question about mouse food. I just haven't been happy with the commercial food available - it seems like there are just too many little tiny seeds - what a waste... Anyway - what do you guys feed your mice? Do you buy commercial, which ones? Or do you make up your own? If so, what do you mix?

Thanks,
Charlotte

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-25-2005, 10:22 PM
Paw-Talk Therapist

Well I became a mouse owner as of yesterday, so I am no expert on this subject. But I have checked out the mixes at pet stores, and like you I'm not impressed. I e-mailed my friend (who rescues rats and mice) to find out what the best diet is. In the meantime I have them eating what I feed my rats (a mixture of cereals, raw veggie pasta, sunflower seeds, Innova senior dogfood, dried fruits, and grains). I also mixed a little of my hamster's food in. I'll let you know what my friend says because she knows a lot about rodent nutrition.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Rats have rights...& mice too!
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-25-2005, 10:38 PM Thread Starter
Playful Pup

Thanks! I'd definitely like to hear what she says. Another thing my girls do - they pick through the food and throw out everything but their favorite stuff... they especially like pumpkin seeds. Makes for a messy cage though.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-26-2005, 02:46 AM
Adolescent Pup

yeah, mostly a mix of whatever's available at the store (dry pasta, veggies, grain cereals, various fruit, nutro lite, dry wheat or 7 grain bread- usually the end pieces of my bread, lol, puffed rice ,etc.....)