Mouse ?'s - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 10:24 AM Thread Starter
Part of the Pack

Thumbs up Mouse ?'s

I'm just getting into raising rodents for feeder animals. I plan on getting a couple large reptiles in the near future and want to have a food source for them. I'm currently enjoying my mice and rats in themselves because I'm pretty surprised at how good of pets the breeding stock is.

8 days ago, a white lab mouse of mine had a litter of 10. Her roomie, a colored mouse also VERY pregnant, helps with caring for them. Then last night she looked SO wide I was sure she would go last night/today - and she did. She had them right in with the older pinks. Should I be worried about the older pinks squishing or out competing the smaller? I saw the white mouse nursing her litter and the colored mouse had a few gathered under her of the small pinks, but I also saw a few of hers that couldn't get to her because of the larger pinks. I think I could get away with moving the older littler down to a man-made nest just a short distance down from the new litter. should I try?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 10:50 AM
Paw-Talk Golden Member

I don't know if you should worry about the younger litter, as I've never bred. But if you move the litter chances are the mom will just move it right back. If you want to ensure that they are separated you'll have to put them in different enclosures.

Maureen

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Six new rats
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 11:02 AM Thread Starter
Part of the Pack

Yup, the new mother actually went out and grabbed the larger pinks again and moved them right back.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 09-05-2008, 01:51 PM
Paw-Talk Golden Member