New rescued rat! Not in good shape:( - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 03-19-2008, 01:33 PM Thread Starter

Angry New rescued rat! Not in good shape:(

I was at a friend house the other day and her brother had come to vist her from college. He was doing a project on rats and he had three, they were all in horrible living conditions and were flea infested. They were never socailized properly and they smelled super bad. One was accually losing his fur(probably from lack of vitamens and minerals, and the fkleas probably didnt help). I immedianly snatched the cage from his hands and told him i would report him if he didnt give them to me(little did he know i was going to report him anyway) so he gave them to me and i immediantly brought them to my office to examine them(im a vet, but i ussually do not work on my own animals, i have another lady who does it and she is great). The two male were in to bad of shape and i tried everything i could but i decided to humanly euthenize them to put them out of their misery(there was no possible way they could have pulled through) I do not like to give up but in this case they were better off. Anyway the female is still here and she seems to be pulling through very well. She was really dehydrated but has come through that. I removed a tumor from her back leg and she is doing well with that. I do not have THAT much experiance with rats so i would hope some of you with more experiance with this particular animal could help me. When ever i try to pick her up to check on her she bites at me, almost like she was a wild rat. And she isnt eating. Is there anyway i can make her food more apealing to her. She should be able to eat by now! and she was being starved by this man so she should be eating like a pig. Is there anyway i can get her to stop biting at me, i really want her to be able to be adopted out to