The oops mice prego - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-02-2010, 03:21 AM Thread Starter
Paw-Talk Golden Member

The oops mice prego

Hello all, I have a few questions for anyone whose use to mice. As I am kind of new to this whole pregnancy thing (this was not my intention) I saved 4 mice from someone who was going to let them die , or feed them to a snake. I didnt want this to happen so i took them in. They where from a friend of a friends who breeds them which to me is but anyways there mommy died so i bottle fed them and everything they where suppose to be all females. so i thought this week i discovered that two looks weird and realized they had round tummys, and that 2 are actaully males. I was not impressed. but figure they are better off safe herre with me then snake food or worst. I have seprated the males from them but i have a few questions about this. I have been doing internet research since i found out.

1 should i separate the moms ? or are they safe together

2 can the boys be together iv heard that they will fight but theyve been togethier since birth and i havent had problems yet.

3 i no rats need extra proteins when prego like eggs ect are mice the same is it safe to give them some eggs or extra veggies ?

any other info u might have would be great thanks for your time.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-02-2010, 03:25 AM
Paw-Talk Addict

Male mice will kill each other. They'll even kill their brother - it's just a matter of time.

Lentils are a good, hi-protein source. Lentils are also real good for them just like they are for us.

As far as I know female mice are community mothers, so I don't see the need to seperate them.
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-02-2010, 03:36 AM Thread Starter
Paw-Talk Golden Member