Patchwork Rats - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-17-2009, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Paw-Talk Addict

Question Patchwork Rats

Hello everyone. I went to a local pet store today and they had what they called "patchwork rats", which I had never heard of before! (Though I came home and looked them up online, so I know they actually do exist as the shop worker explained.) Apparently their hair falls out in random places at random times... Just wondering if anyone has ever had one of these guys before or known someone who did? From the little info on the internet, they seem to have an increased number of health problems. Is that true? Are they different from regular rats in any other way? (temperament, diet, hygiene, etc)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-17-2009, 03:56 PM

How strange!!

I have no knowledge about or have ever heard of these guys. I would think that the increased health problems would result from whatever genetic oddities allow the hair loss?

Very interesting, I hope that you find some answers!
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-17-2009, 04:18 PM

They're no different from other rattys, at least when it comes to temperament. I've never owned one, but I've read about them here and there.

That poor ratty...I really hope someone nice adopts him. Usually those rats are not the prettiest, so they are bought with mean intentions, or never bought.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 08-17-2009, 05:01 PM
Part of the Pack

i just looked it up, oh my god it's cute and ugly at the same time. people would totally get one for mean reasons. i know most people don't advocate buying pets from pet stores, but if there's one on sale i'd totally buy it so people aren't thinking mean things when they buy them.