Problem with Parents - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-11-2004, 02:07 PM Thread Starter

Problem with Parents

OK, I'm a newbie here, I'm a newbie with a problem!
I'm almost 15 and desperate for a rat, I've had 4 gerbils (2 sets of 2) and 6 mice (2 sets of 3) and yet mum and dad are putting their foot (or should i say feet?!) down; I cannot have a rat.
I have wanted a rat for so long, and I've proved that I can look after my own pets. Dad says he doesn't want any more pets, but then again he always says that; after every new pet it's "no more pet's after this" when a pet dies it's "we're not getting another"...so I SHOULD be able to get round him. Mum is a bit more tricky, she can't stand their tails, ever so slightly pathetic but there you go!!!
I haven't started the pleading process yet, i've just been trying to get permission for another small pet, they think I want a gerbil, but this time my heart is set on a rat.
The rat could stay in my room, I've kept pets in there before, and it has a lock on it so our 6mnth old terrior wouldn't get anywhere near them (especially since the cage would be on a chest of drawers) We even have the cage for them as we used to have a chinchilla who happened to catch (and consequently break) her leg in the bars, so it's covered in wire mesh...ideal for a rat!
What I need is just a bit of help, if any of you have been through a similar thing could you please tell me how you won round whoever you were trying to convince, or how you were won round by someone else! I'll be glad of anything!

Thanks alot
Kel
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-11-2004, 08:48 PM
Adolescent Pup