Rat Food and Bedding - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2013, 12:32 AM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Question Rat Food and Bedding

Hello ,
This is my first time visiting this site, so I apologize in advance if people have already asked and answered this question. So I have six rats currently, two older boys in their own cage and one middle aged girl and three young girls in their own cage. I have looked up on multiple sites and there seems to be a lot of people saying that Harlan Laboratory foods is a great cheap option for rat food. I have taken animal nutrition classes and I want what is best for my rats and I know that many pet foods you buy in the stores are not actually a well balanced diet for that animal. Has anyone had any experience with Harlan Laboratory foods or any other well balanced foods? Also on the Harlan Laboratory site, they have options for bedding on there, has anyone tried their bedding or have any comments on it?
Thank you for your time.
Bonnie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-29-2013, 11:12 AM
Paw-Talk Golden Member

Hi Bonnie and Welcome!

Yes, Harlan Teklad is a great ratty food staple and many rat people use it. I have never bought it from the actual HT (Harlan Teklad) company as I always assumed they just sold their lab blocks in bulk, but maybe that has changed?

I buy my HT blocks from a small online company called The Crafty Rat. They sell different HT blocks in 5 pound and 10 pound bags. Maybe even in 1 pound bags, if I remember correctly?

There are several small run ratty supply stores online, and they usually are also rat rescue type operations or they fund their rat rescue operations in part from the proceeds they get for selling the HT blocks and other supplies, so it is a nice win-win situation in my book.