Rat Help - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-09-2007, 10:53 AM Thread Starter
Adolescent Pup

Rat Help

hello...I have a wonderful hairless female rat who is getting old and has developed a mid-size tumor on her chin area. it was not visibly affecting her lifestyle before. however, last night, she scratched the skin open, and she now basically has two flaps of skin and a big open wound on her face. she is clearly in pain and there is no hope in my mind of this wound ever healing, especially as she is already so old. the problem is, I live in a secluded area when I'm not at school, and there are NO vets that will see rats at all. I am a pre-vet student, and have euthanized mice in a lab with the vet anesthetics halothane and isoflurane before...but I do not know where to obtain this for personal use. does anybody have any suggestions or information that can help me? I feel terrible that this has happened and want the rest of her life to be as painless and comfortable as possible. thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-09-2007, 11:08 AM
Paw-Talk Addict

eek thats a hard one
when I had my rat uthinized due to cancer
i took him to a vet it cost 10dollars
it might be worth the trip into town to have him put down
the only other thing is you can call around and see if you can get it to take home.....
tell them you want to uthinize you're no good cheeten lying boy friend ha ha ha just kidding of course.....
I have a crazy sense of humor

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-09-2007, 11:13 AM
Will It Ever Change?