Should I get a rat? Or two? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-02-2005, 10:00 AM Thread Starter

Should I get a rat? Or two?

Thinking seriously about getting a dumbo rat for my daughter. I have read that you should get a companion as they will get lonely without. True or not? Also, I am a firefighter who works a 24 hour shift so there will be times without anyone at home for a day at a time regularly. Think this will present a problem?

Thanks, Greg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 09:51 AM Thread Starter

Well, thanks for all the helpful suggestions everyone.
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 03-04-2005, 12:32 PM
Adolescent Pup

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregr
Thinking seriously about getting a dumbo rat for my daughter. I have read that you should get a companion as they will get lonely without. True or not? Also, I am a firefighter who works a 24 hour shift so there will be times without anyone at home for a day at a time regularly. Think this will present a problem?

Thanks, Greg

definitely two.. but be sure it's a same-sex pair!! Otherwise you'll wind up with about 20 baby rats EVERY MONTH!!!

Rats are VERY social animals and need to be kept in pairs or more.. only in VERY rare cases does a rat have to be kept singly, and most of the time it just takes work to get them to accept others (like a poorly bred territorial male you can neuter, or one who's been kept alone all their life can eventually live with others with successful introductions).

Especially if you cannot play with the rat all the time, you will need a companion for them.