Why did my rat just bite me? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Mouse & Rat Discussion Twitching whiskers, tiny paws, and all else mouse or rat related.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-17-2009, 01:59 PM Thread Starter
Playful Pup

Why did my rat just bite me?

So like one of my rats was just climbing on me and she started to sniff my eye brow and then she bit it!

I don't think it was an aggressive thing....

But I don't know why she did it....

It didn't draw blood but it still really hurt!

So do you guys have any idea why she did it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-17-2009, 02:10 PM
Adolescent Pup

Did it smell of food? Maybe misguided grooming? Winston (my mouse) nibbles my fingers if they smell of food. He eats like a pig rather than a mouse :S
I'm sure one of the rat experts can shed some light, I am a beginner with rodents.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mister Winston Shiny-Sides
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-17-2009, 02:33 PM
Rodentologist

Sounds like she was grooming you. They often power-groom each other as a social interaction, and sometimes their cagemates squeak and squirm to get away. If she's by herself, she's probably lonely and trying to pretend you're another rat.

We are as gods to the beasts of the fields. We order the time o' their birth and the time o' their death. Between times, we ha' a duty. - Terry Pratchett.

"Men have forgotten this truth", said the fox, "But you must not forget it. You become responsible, forever, for what you have tamed. - Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 11-17-2009, 03:02 PM
RAT ADDICT

I agree,it is probably nothing,but her grooming you.My boy,Ronnie did this to me a few days ago.

* Lisa *

* To the world you are ONE person,but to a rat you are the world *