Homemade Toys - Safe Pine? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Chinchilla Discussion Twitching whiskers, fluffy tails, silky soft fur and all else chinchilla!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-18-2004, 11:15 PM Thread Starter
Playful Pup

Question Homemade Toys - Safe Pine?

Hi! I'm relatively new to Paw Talk, but so far everyone seems so nice! I have two Chinnies (I bought them from Chinhappy!), Athena & Ransack ~ formally Chee Chee & Bickles.

I want to try my hand at making some toys for them.
Yesterday, I went to Lowes and bought some pine. I asked the guy who worked there for "untreated, kiln dried pine". He said that *all* the pine was kiln dried. And the untreated pine was the stuff that was not greenish in color.
When I read that I need "untreated" pine, that means "not the green stuff right?"
One of the peices I bought was a 2x4. There isn't any reason that I couldn't use that right???

Also, for those of you who make your own toys: do you dye them? What do you use? I would assume that food coloring would be safe, but would probably get on their fur. Any better alteratives?

Thanks!
~Nellie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2004, 01:11 AM
Incubator Cricket Killer

That is the wood I use for my chinnies I have no idea on what works best for coloring since I have never colored anything for mine (toys are just as much fun plain, lol), but I have heard of people using food coloring and unsweetened Kool aid. I'm not sure I'd want to flavor the wood and encourage them to eat even more than they already do though

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-19-2004, 01:53 AM
Paw-Talk Addict