Has your ferret ever lost it's fur? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Ferret Discussion Mischievous antics, missing items, and all else ferret.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-17-2004, 01:06 PM Thread Starter

Question Has your ferret ever lost it's fur?

Hi,
I'm pretty new to Paw Talk but it seems like a really great place so far!

I just wanted to let you know about an experience that we have had with our ferret and find out if this has happened to anyone else here.

Archangel ~she goes by Sister at home! ~ is about 8 years old. About 5 years ago she lost all of the hair on her tail. Then it grew back. Then it fell out again, taking all of the hair on her back too. My husband took her to a vet (who said that he was knowledgeable in ferret health). The vet told him that she had a disease (have no idea the name). It was something with a gland in her brain. He said that she could live up to a year with this disease if we did nothing. The only solution was surgery. They could take the gland out. He said that *if* she lived thru the surgery, she would probably only live for another year anyway. We chose to let her live the rest of her life with out having to go thru the pain and suffering of surgery.
What do you know? Her hair grew back! And she is still with us..... *5* years later!!!!!
Her hair comes and goes as it pleases. We have never taken her to the vet again (of course we would if she was hurt or suddenly got really sick).
Has anyone had this experience? Does anyone know why her hair falls out?
~Nellie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2004, 08:16 AM Thread Starter

anyone?
Wow, I didn't realize that Sister had such an unusual disease!
~Nellie
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-23-2004, 10:42 AM
Obsessed With Turtles

Nellie! I'm sorry! I am such a scatter brain... I don't know how I missed these posts (and it is even MY section )