Just got my boy! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Prairie Dog Discussion Wide smiles, open arms, yahoos, kisses, and all else prairie dog.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-08-2009, 10:29 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Just got my boy!

Hi everyone,
Let me first say that I have been anticipating owning a prairie dog since early 2001. As I was on the waiting list for a pup of my own, this awful ban took place. I was extremely disappointed. I think I read "Bringing a Prairie Dog Pup Into Your Home" front to back at least five times. I already had a vet lined up to do a spay/neuter. What a bummer it was! I was ecstatic to learn this past fall that the ban had been rescinded-- the wait for spring to come was awful! As soon as I saw the first ads for them this year, I had lined up to have one shipped. However, to my utter surprise, I walked into a tiny, dirty little pet store this past Thursday and found a little pup huddled up in the corner of the cage. I felt it was not wise to support such a store, but my heartstrings broke watching him in the tiny, filthy cage. As soon as I approached him, he ran up the side bars and stood as close to me in the corner as he could. I decided that I could not leave without getting the little guy. As soon as he was placed into my arms, he let out a "yahoo!" What a moment.