Nail trimming some advice on a new product if possible! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Sugar Glider Discussion Cozy pouches, fluffy tails, bright eyes, and all else sugar glider.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-02-2011, 06:54 AM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Nail trimming some advice on a new product if possible!

Hi
I am new to Paw Talk and I hope it is ok to write this thread. I live in Derbyshire, England and have recently acquired a pair of boy sugar gliders. I use a wheel with a sandy insert to trim their nails, which is good - but I have noticed that one suggie goes in it a lot more than the other one (he prefers the toys in the cage). So his nails arent trimmed as much. As an Open University student I am currently doing a course on Technology and Design and for my design project I am looking into creating a safe nail trimmer which can be wrapped around branches, allowing them to self-trim their nails without damaging their delicate feet.
The design will have a mesh outer layer with an appropriate grade sand paper underneath, the gliders nails will come into contact with the sand paper,not the feet. It is the same principle as the trim trax but with smaller sections attached to a branch. The branch will be sold with the trimmer attached (it will be 'embedded' into the branch) and will clip to the side of the cage. It will also have holes in it with stainless steel 'cups' where nectar or gum can be added, encouraging the gliders to forage. I would welcome any feedback regarding my idea - whether any of you think it is suitable or commercially viable. It would be much appreciated for my assignment!

Moderator - is it ok to post this message in a couple of relevant threads? Many thanks.

kind regards
Meggie
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 05-02-2011, 08:13 AM
Super Moderator