need Glider diet help - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Sugar Glider Discussion Cozy pouches, fluffy tails, bright eyes, and all else sugar glider.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-30-2008, 03:28 PM Thread Starter

need Glider diet help

I just got my glider two days ago. I got some of the formula and the breeder said it was enough and I might want to look into some treats later.well....I want to change things up a bit and give her food that she'll really enjoy and look forward to eating (I've heard good food makes them sweeter and easier to bond with) not just tolerate because thats what shes got. I've given her some apple while I work with her and I also included a tiny amount of honey. What else can I give her and what is the best treat for her? she loves honey but I figure that should be something extra special. IDK though I'm not very experienced and I only know what I've read and been told by the breeder.

She has greatly improved her attitude since I gave her the apples and honey and let her crawl on my hand. Shes proving to be very sweet!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 06-30-2008, 10:26 PM
Part of the Pack

Arrow

First off you need to place your glider on a proven diet for gliders...... I use the BML Diet.
You can read about it on my website.

http://www.freewebs.com/sugargliders4u2/

Second...
Please do not fill your glider up on sweets or she will not eat the protein that is needed to keep her healthy.
Many people use meal worms, natural baby food or yogurt drops for bonding foods.

Basic 5 parts of a Sugar Glider Diet:
... based on approved & safe foods.

1 - Staple Food: main food supply
2 - Fresh Protein Source
3 - Fresh Fruits & Vegetables
4 - Supplements: Calcium & Vitamins
5 - Daily Fresh WATER

Third...
Look into getting a bonding pouch and tent (for tent time) to help the bonding process along after you have given your glider a good week to settle in.

R h a p s o d y -