Armadillo as a pet? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Other Exotics Post here about any exotics not listed - and topics relevant to all exotics.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-16-2010, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
Newborn Pup

Armadillo as a pet?

I've been watching Billy the Exterminator and he often catches Armadillos, oh my gosh they are the cutest animals I've ever seen! The don't seem to be very aggressive (like the raccoons - yikes!) so my question is does anyone have an armadillo for a pet? Are they legal and do they make good pets?

I'm thinking the answer is "no" because we don't see them around as people's pets, but why are they not kept?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-17-2010, 09:51 PM
Super Moderator

Some states don't allow people to own exotic animals easily. Most places require a permit for ownership of an armadillo. I have no knowledge of anywhere that sells them. Armadillos have sharp claws, a strong, musky smell, are constantly digging and are nocturnal. If any of this bothers you, then I wouldn't get one for a pet.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-18-2010, 05:32 AM
I'm not weird, I'm gifted

Armadillos should be quite friendly, but they are wild animals and not pets. If kept, you really need an enclosure for them.

/Pia

I apologized if my english is not correct
Owned by chinchillas since 1997
Breeding since 2005

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
<-- Check out my blog for Chinfo
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-18-2010, 11:30 AM
It's all for them

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chinchi View Post
Armadillos should be quite friendly, but they are wild animals and not pets. If kept, you really need an enclosure for them.
Yes but as you say, they are wild animals.