Flying squirrel?? - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Other Exotics Post here about any exotics not listed - and topics relevant to all exotics.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-25-2009, 09:45 AM Thread Starter

Question Flying squirrel??

Okay. . .
So I have been looking over what type of pet I should get.
And it all comes down to, a fly squirrel.
The little things stole my heart sooo fast!!

But now I have to wonder. . .
Could I make it a cage, or would I have to get one?

I've found a lot of cages are expensive.

I don't plan on getting a flying squirrel for quite a while, but I want to have a cage all ready for the little guy. :]

That way he can feel at home as quick as possible :]

Any suggestions?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-25-2009, 02:54 PM

I have no experience whatsoever with flying squirrels and don't really know what cage would suit them best but I suppose one for suger gliders should do them fine. anyway someone will be able to tell you exactly. until then all you can do is research to find out what would suit them best. good luck
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-25-2009, 10:00 PM

the cage should be atleast like 65cm in all direktions and no more large then 2cm bar spasing. they are arboreal so alot if vertacle spase is good. natural wood bird perches are good for inside the cage, i recomend manzanita with bark on it is a very tough wood and easy to clean because its not porus. but also they need some flat perches like shelves(that are solid not wire). and for a nestbox something enklosed and near the top of the cage, like a birdhouse type thing or a cloth bag with a hole in the side. also i think they will use a large excersize weel. if you have alot of time and you would like to make a cage then it definatly would save money, but it may take alot of work so really its up to you. im not an expert of flying squirrels but i hope this helps a little.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement