Hello to all - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Rabbit Discussion All things floppy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-29-2005, 08:56 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy Hello to all

Hello I am a newbie here and am hoping to get some advice on our Rabbit problem.........

My name is Patti and we have 3 rabbits, 2 females, Snowflake and Patches, and 1 Male - Carmel. Our problem is lengthy so I will make it short. We have tried unsuccessfully to breed our rabbits.
The females get pregnant, and have the babies, but Patches is just not knowledgable as to what to do and this has resulted in the babies dying, they froze. Snowflake has had three litters with us over the past three years, but once they reach the 6 - 8 week timeperiod they all look healthy one moment and then are seizing and dying the next. We don't know what this is or how it is happening, but my daughter has bred her again, and we now have 4 week old babies and I am worried once again that the same thing will happen!!!!! I have searched and searched and talked with other breeders and no one has a clue as to what is happening. I have been told many things to do but I am unsure as to what to do as every piece of advice I get is different.....I am so confused and don't think I could handle losing another batch. Does anyone out there know what is happening to our babies? Some say to give the babies Selenium, others say to ensure that the bedding is dry, others say that our female is missing something in the genetics that causes this to happen.......I am at a loss, and am reaching out to see what type of response I can get.......please help? thanx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-30-2005, 05:15 PM

Red face

Hi Patti and to PT! I have 4 bunnies - 2 females Amber & Jasmine and 2 males Billy & Harvey.. I also have 5 degus.. Look forward to hearing more about you and your pets..
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-31-2005, 04:45 PM

Why don't you keep them somewhere warmer?