I'm a newbie and need some bunny advice! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Rabbit Discussion All things floppy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-30-2007, 03:20 AM Thread Starter
Dinky Gerbilelbow

Question I'm a newbie and need some bunny advice!

Hi there my name is Carla and i have a netherland dwarf male bunny called Sammo! So anyway i was feeling a bit guilty coz i know rabbits like to live in pairs so i figured i will go get him a male playmate so after 5 weeks of having Sammo on his own that is exactly what i did! Yesterday i went and bought Bbop! Now i have been told by the shop that he is also a boy which is what i wanted! So anyway i had them on their first date yesterday in the bath and it was going ok then they had a bit of a to do so i split them up and put them back in separate cages. I had them facing eachother in their cages for about 3 hours then decided to give it another go and to my delight it went swimmingly! They were getting on so well grooming eachother and sniffing etc so i decided to put them both in the run on the lawn and just watch and still they have not tried to fight or anything BUT my older bunny Sammo has done nothing but MOUNT the other one So i am thinking maybe Bbop is actually a girl!!
so my question is......
Would a buck mount another buck? or do you think i am gonna have some bubby buns in about a month?

Carla x
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-30-2007, 12:33 PM
Playful Pup

Humping certainly can be a dominance behavior. Here are some websites that might help you sex the bunnies to make sure you don't have a male and a female since, unfortunately, you cannot always trust pet store employees to be correct:

How to Sex Your Rabbits
Sexing Rabbits

If you are ever in the market for rabbits again I recommend rescuing instead. Rabbits are the third or fourth most overpopulated pet in shelters so many could use a good home.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 08-30-2007, 12:40 PM
Super Moderator