Need help with my bunny's home setup! - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Rabbit Discussion All things floppy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-05-2007, 10:44 PM Thread Starter

Need help with my bunny's home setup!

I recently just bought home a new family member shelley! He is actually a guy but I gave him a feminine name because of a special meaning behind it =)

Anyway, I think it is because its my first time taking care of a pet, I get paranoid easily. I have done so many research and everyone says shaving is bad for a bunny, but I was told by the store's associate to spread it around in the cage for his comfort. I also bought those NIC things and fenced it around so I usually let him out most of the time when I am home except when I go to bed (I did that once and I couldn't sleep cuz he was dashing around like crazy)

My question is... is this a good setup for him? Why do I really need? What should i take out? What is the best way to set it up?? I tried to litter train him but he poos all over inside the cage.

Some help would be much appreciated!

Some photos of the setup:

www.imagearts.ryerson.ca/cchan/1.jpg
www.imagearts.ryerson.ca/cchan/2.jpg
www.imagearts.ryerson.ca/cchan/3.jpg
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 10-07-2007, 10:01 PM
Super Moderator

It looks good to me - looks like he has lots of space outside his cage to run around and play!

How old is he? Is he neughtered? How long did you attempt litter training?

What I do with my rabbits is instead of shavings or something I give them old towels to lay on and throw them in the washing machine when they need it. But my two guys are both litterbox trained, so they don't poo or pee on the towels.

There are other kinds of shavings that I think might be better for him, carefresh is safe but I've never tried it. You could even use old newspaper if you wanted too.