Scent glands - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Rabbit Discussion All things floppy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-16-2007, 12:19 PM Thread Starter

I'm sure this has been asked lots before, but i'm still a newbie! I keep reading that I must check Berties anal scent glands, and clean them out.
I've tried to find them, but he's not at all happy about me looking.

I'd really appreciate some help with this. How do I.....
.find them
.Clean them & what with
.Keep Bertie calm

and how often should they be cleaned.

Thanks in anticipation
Jay
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-18-2007, 08:08 PM
Can't Stop Touching Her Eyes

I found Tabby's but that was only because her tush would get dirty and I had to give her bunny butt baths. I was trying to get poo out of her fur one day and happen across them. I read about it so I knew what they were. I believe they were on either side of her anus. With her since she was already wet I just used my fingers and a wash cloth. It was gross but I did a lot of gross things for her.
I believe you are supposed to use Qtips with warm water to clean it out. On Tabby I found crusty stuff in there. It smelled really bad.
I want to try it on the girls because they keep letting off their "stink butts" in response to my attempts to bonding them.
Good luck with Bertie.
Have you posted any pics?

mommy to
Tyler - kitty
Oscar - water turtle
Bean - kitty
Frankie - dachshund
Belle - dachshund
Oliver - bunny
Ophelia - bunny
Penelope - bunny
Teddy - bunny -ok I have given up on 4 of a kind and am willing to settle for 2 pairs.
8 fishes - RIP Little Guy and Greta
and Tabatha - October 11, 2006 - rest in peace our sweet angel bunny
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-19-2007, 02:49 AM Thread Starter

Thanks KathyD, that's a great help. I'm probably not going to get him wet, but I'll just have to try a bit harder, although I'm not looking forward to it at all!
Do you know how often they should be cleaned?