how to tell the gender of a quacker... - Paw Talk - Pet Forums
Bird Discussion Discuss your feathered friends here.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-01-2004, 07:45 PM Thread Starter

how to tell the gender of a quacker...

a 2 years ago i got a pet quacker from a pet store. when i got him they said they didnt know the gender because it is hard to tell with a quacker unless you breed it. i think George(quacker) is a boy pending that he is cocky and thinks he knows it all. he was supposted to have been 6months old when i got him, and he was the last they had. his siblings had been sold months ago. if someone can inform me on how to tell the gender that would be great!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-01-2004, 10:17 PM
Super Soaker Snot Ball Shooter

Are you talking about a Quaker?

I'm no bird expert by any means, but I think some breed of birds need to be DNA tested to be sure of the gender.

When I had parakeets I know my female had brown over the top part of her beak (where the nostrils are) and my male had blue.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Rhonda
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-01-2004, 10:26 PM
Miss New Booty

Yup, Scarlette is right... I have never had a quaker, but the *true* way to know, is to get your birdie DNA tested.
Yup, Scarlette, that's right about the keets'. Although Dena thought her bird was a boy, and 5 years later it layed an egg, so I guess you never know?!

~* Jackie *~

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 01-02-2004, 04:13 PM
Proud New Mommy

don't female ducks lay eggs?

Wait until she gets old enough to lay eggs... If she never does then she's a he!! lol I don't know how

"Live your beliefs and you can turn the world around"- Henry David Thoreau